Blah and Bland

Today is day four! I can’t believe I have almost made it through a week of this lifestyle change. It is already such a journey and it seems like every one I meet; I am taking along for the ride. I have this desire to tell everyone what I am doing. The funny thing is I don’t even care if they are interested or not! I just hope that those around me see a change in my overall health and that it might get them thinking to make a change as well. I know I am not the only one has done this, but if I can help just one person, that would be worth it.

Update:

Last night after work, I was so tired that I couldn’t keep my eyes open. Of course, I had to keep them open so I could walk and drive, etc, but I really didn’t want to! I was dreading going home because I didn’t know what I was going to eat. No quick run to Taco Bell. So, a few days ago, I went to Sprouts and got food, but I noticed that mostly I was only eating fruit and not much of anything else. Knowing that isn’t the best thing as I need my veggies too, I decided to try Trader Joe’s. I was tired and weak and didn’t want to go, but I knew that I needed more food.

My concern was convenience. Between work, my partner and our 3 year old son, there is not a lot of time in the day to cook and prepare which really makes this type of lifestyle hard. There is no coming home late at night and going straight to bed or just grabbing a quick bite in a hurry. Last night alone, it took me 90 minutes to cook dinner, eat and then prepare my meals for the next day. Now, I am not saying this to scare you away, I want everything about this blog to be realistic. Your life is going to revolve around food which is ironic since most of you who are doing this with me are trying to get healthy and that normally means less food in your life!

So, along with my partner and our 3 year, we drive to Trader Joe’s and the shopping begins. I swear I lit up like a Christmas tree when I got there! There were so many veggies that were fresh and READY TO GO! I love when the food is already cut up because I just don’t have the time, and honestly it is worth the extra dollar for it. I couldn’t believe the selection and my mind just started spinning with the different foods I could eat. My “blah & bland” thoughts were completely removed. Even with my lack of creativity, I knew I was going to be able to cook without getting bored. This alone is a feat in itself. Most people stop eating healthy because they get bored with the food, the lack of convenience gets to them or they have one bad day and completely give up. Oh yes, and don’t forget that they don’t see immediate results so why even bother…

Anyway, I picked all of these colorful and delicious veggies, cut and sealed, ready to be eaten. I got some coconut oil, almond  butter and another Paleo oil that I can’t remember. We checked out and went home and that’s when the planning started. I took over an entire section of the fridge. The top shelve is no longer allowed to be used except by me! There is tupperware, stacks of foods, bags, and I couldn’t be happier. I felt accomplished and my energy came back.

I made an amazing dinner that I put in a pan and mixed it with water and coconut oil. I used water so I could limit the amount of coconut oil since it is a bit fatty, but very good for you. I added some “approved” seasoning, sprinkled it with Chia seeds and devoured that food like I had never eaten before. I even found myself making noises of pleasure when I ate. Don’t judge!

Now, day four…my energy is great today! I feel alive and well and full of promise! I am eating my vegetables that I prepared last night and overall my body seems to be adjusting. I am still having some intestional issues, but reasearch tells me this is normal. So, if you are doing this too, don’t worry! The best thing to do is bring down your fruit content a bit, increase your veggies and remove nuts for a while until your body is more adjusted. I do wish that for the first month, I could take a nap every day to restart my body, but that isn’t possible, so I am taking B vitamins which is really helping.

It is amazing how draining it can be to make your body healthy. It also amazing how quickly your body can adapt to changes whether good or bad. My choice is the good!

I’m off to eat some celery and almond butter!

Leave a Reply

