These crackers are for you.

That is what I heard as I made my salad this afternoon. I adamantly say to my friend who knows of my new food choices that I don’t eat crackers. She explains she needs crackers for her soup that she had, but they’re only free with my salad. We laughed and I brought her “stolen” crackers with me.

So, I’ve made it through my first week and I am no longer counting. I am beginning to wake up each morning without giving my lifestyle a second thought. It is becoming as much of a habit to me as French fries at McDonalds use to be.

This weekend was surprisingly easy for me. Granted I stayed home all weekend, but that can sometimes be harder since your old comfort foods are still around for the rest of the family and haunt you with their processed yumminess.

So, I took my weekend at home as an opportunity to experiment with food. I’ve already raved about my fritters so I won’t go there again, but I did make more wonderful things!

I successfully made sweet potato fries with homemade ketchup. So yummmmmy! It was a great midnight snack and now I have ketchup!

I also made a delicious and EXTREMELY spicy red pepper and avocado soup. Wow. It was so good and so hot. I was proud of that one. Now, I know I said meals are overrated, but if you don’t make it as a meal per se, you really have 3-4 servings which goes a long way with convenience.

I also made a vegetable melody with coconut milk which was really good and served well for a light lunch or mid day snack.

Today! My most triumphant feat was homemade Paleo Banana Bread! Oh my, it was so good and I indulged in two pieces! I can’t wait to have another piece tomorrow morning with my chia fruit smoothy. Mmmhmmmm!

As I type this, I have my “last leg veggies” simmering in some vegetable broth with seasonings for a delicious soup. That will feed me for a couple days and no food will go to waste; hence the banana bread.

Hey, I think I’m getting the hang of this! I know I owe you some recipes and I promise I’ll upload them soon!

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

