Stop Staring

Over the weekend, my family and I celebrated Thanksgiving. I knew that the traditional foods would be served and I had a plan of attack. Honestly, I don’t think that anyone should have to give up a holiday celebration meal. Sure, you can make alternatives, but when it isn’t your house that isn’t really an option. Plus, you can still make small good choices while attending to that delicious plate in front of you!

My Plan:

I knew there would be veggie platters, so I brought my Paleo approved ranch. People can stare…but at least I am taking out one unhealthy thing. Plus, I don’t have to worry about anyone double dipping in my own ranch!! I had pumpkin pie, but only the pumpkin; I didn’t eat the crust. I brought my own Sunbutter for dipping other snacks and all of these proved to work out well. For dinner, I opted for the smallest plate in existence and allowed myself small servings of what I enjoyed the most. I didn’t go back for seconds. I didn’t gorge myself until I couldn’t eat anymore. I was happy and satisfied. Not bad for my first Thanksgiving living a healthy lifestyle.

New Creations:

Last night I baked. I made what I have innocently named “Banana Balls”. I didn’t understand the giggles until someone explained the sexual nature of the name. I will press forward with the name. I like the giggles. I also made Sunbutter cookies (dryer than I wanted; working on that) and some homemade cinnamon apple crisps. It was a very successful night and I look forward to mastering my own recipes.

On top of that, I also made a spinach soup which was delicious. Tonight, I am going to conquer spinach ravioli. I’ll let everyone know how it goes.

More About Me:

I came down with a cold over the weekend. I am blaming it on a virus that was lingering in my body from when my partner had a cold a couple weeks ago. Whether or not that is true, that is what I am saying. I had processed foods (not much, but enough) two days in a row. On the third day, I woke up sick. I immediately began to “juice” up and by the next day, I was feeling much better. It really does help to keep those vitamins in your system. When you put in ugly, the ugly will find a way to everything else.

My overall health is improving. I’m still dealing with a lot of pain, but I notice that mentally it is becoming more tolerable. I wonder if that is because my mental clarity is better or because I am just healthier in general so I don’t feel so down. I am continuing to lose weight. People are noticing; it is a nice feeling. I suppose that is the extrovert in me.

My digestive tract is back on target. The only issues I ever have is if I eat something that isn’t raw. My body essentially tries to purge it. I can almost describe it as someone who has had gastric by-pass surgery and if they eat something on the bad list they will get sick and “dumping” occurs. I know that if I eat something that is not raw that within 30 minutes I will get sick. It never fails. So, 98% of the time I eat raw and the rest of the time, I prepare myself for the aftermath for the delicious goodness that I ate.

I wish other people would walk beside me in this journey. I look at some of my friends, co-workers, family members and I know how much healthier they would be if they did this with me. Sure, it takes time to get use to. You might want to give up. You’ll get bored until you find a bunch of new recipes. You’ll get tired of going to the store, cutting, chopping and preparing.

BUT

Get past that first month and your hurdles are gone. I promise you that your creative juices will start flowing. You will begin making things you never imagined. When you feel hungry and need a snack, you will juice or make a smoothy instead of opening a bag of chips. The preparing will take minutes, the chopping will start to look like you are a professional chef. It is amazing what 4 weeks can do to your body, mind and soul.  It will be second nature to you…or in the case of our cavemen, first nature.

My secret plan (which isn’t a secret anymore) is that I have everyone try my food when I make it. Whether it is good or bad, I have them try it so they can see that just about anything can be made Paleo style. 99% of the people who try my recipes like them. They have no idea they are eating something healthy; especially when I bring in my baked goods. Each person has their own preference, so I am big on asking for opinions and modifying as needed. Spices are important. Too much and the dish is ruined; too little and the dish is ruined. I’m new at this so I need all the help, comments and feedback I can get!

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday! I’ll be uploaded some recipes within the next couple of days! Be on the look out!

~Brandi

Leave a Reply

